Uncle J Vs. 2008 – Round 1

Aaaand here we go.  A new year and 2 months or more of typing the wrong year on any invoices I send out at work.I had a wonderful 2 week vacation filled with family, food and good ol’ down home fun.  My niece is the most amazing thing I have seen in many years and I’m really looking forward to watching her grow up.  It’s hard being away for a lot of the big moments in her life but at the same time it’s a lot of fun coming home and being surprised by what she can do after such a short time.

“Hey J, do you have any resolutions?” you ask.  Hardly.  I learned a long time ago that if you make a promise to yourself to do something and call it a Resolution you usually end up pissed at yourself by February and worse off than when you started.  Yes I have a list of things I hope to do to improve myself and a few little goals in mind – but I promise myself nothing except to try.

Among these, my top priorities are to find a church home (finally), get back to a regular gym schedule and to consistently add more to my savings every month and NOT TOUCH IT.

Speaking of my cash flow…  today I experienced one of the most gratifying feelings I’ve ever had.  I paid off a college loan!!  I’m here to tell you, paying for an education is an education in itself.  All part of that American Dream I guess.  Funny how the American Dream never seems to involve paying interest…

So 2007 I bid you farewell.  Welcome, 2008.  Bring it on.

Happy New Year everyone

J

 

Leave a comment