A True Aristocrat

Today we mourn the passing of one of the best.  Comedian George Carlin passed away last night due to heart failure at the age of 71.

Anyone who talks to me more than 5 minutes usually figures out (or is told) I love stand up comedy.  While Carlin may not have been someone to admire from a lifestyle standpoint, he certainly changed the game of stand up forever.

His take on airlines, his comparison of football and baseball and, of course, the Seven Words You Can Never Say on Television were all genius.  About halfway through his 60 year career he drastically changed his image including more blue material in his act and increased the offensive content 10 fold.  While this pushed a lot of people away, those that took a second to listen to what he was saying and not how he was saying it found more depth than they anticipated.  He didn’t just push the envelope.  He set it on fire and threw it at you.  He looked at the system and pointed out all the logical problems with it, and offered some very ingenious solutions.  He made us look at the world around us differently and he will be greatly missed.  While I find it hard to say “Rest in Peace” to such an adamant atheist (who prayed to Joe Pesci & worshiped the Sun), I am grateful he shared his comedy with us.

Thanks for all the laughs, you dirty old bastard.

One Response to “A True Aristocrat”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    Oh man, George Carlin….I heard of his passing on NPR this morning and my day became a little bit less happy.

    I did thank God for him though, because in addition to making me laugh, I learned what a “myocardial infarction” was at a young age from one of his bits. It later helped me to get an A on an Anatomy and Physiology exam. What irony for me that he should die of none other than the same ailment that makes me remember him the strongest…..

Leave a Reply

