The Wrath of Con

My first thoughts Sunday morning, August 29th:

“My knee is killing me, I’m partially deaf in my right ear and I sure hope I got all that black eye liner off last night.”

If that’s not the sign of a pretty awesome night, I don’t know what is.

Pictures to follow.  Unfortunately, my camera decided to die as soon as we arrived.  Jon however, being the generous person that he is, took plenty and I’ll be getting more to share very soon.  In the meantime, here’s a recap of day one…

The flight out from Newark was uneventful which, when flying is concerned, is a good thing.  With only a few bomb and fire jokes uttered passing through security Ali, Jean, Jon and I arrived in Atlanta.  We stayed at the Hilton and had a nice room on the 6th floor with a view of the pool.  

Before even making it to the lobby of the hotel I saw various anime characters, zombies and heard lots of pop culture references I did not understand.  It was going to be a good weekend.

Checked in, we got dinner and began working out our remaining hours of Friday.  Loving cartoons and Batman as I do, I decided on a panel entitled “The Animated History of Batman” at 8:30pm.  I worked my way through the 3 hotels fighting my way past various incarnations of jedi, anime and comic book characters and steampunks (a fad I would soon learn to appreciate a lot more).

It was a fun panel, but not very educational.  Apparently, the animation of Batman on the Scooby-Doo Show was designed for kids, while Batman – The Phantom Menace was aimed more towards an older audience.  Never would have crossed my mind.

By 10:30 or 11 we had made it to the Abney Park concert.  Or more accurately, the line for the Abney Park concert.  The line left the hotel, went outside and around the corner where we waited on the sidewalk to be let in.  Jon walked down the line to take pictures, Jean and Ali were talking and I set out on a personal quest to figure out What That Smell Was.  It belonged to a very confused homeless man making his way up the street past the throngs of people in all forms of dress.  I can only imagine the thoughts going through his head.  I mean, I’m sure he’s used to being ignored by people, but probably not by Spiderman.  When he got to us, he tried to get me to give him my beer.  I, being the insensitive NYer that I am, told a homeless man that he couldn’t have my beer because it had “been a long day” and I was “still using it”.  That settled I resumed conversing with the girls.  Not only did he not go away, he took it upon himself to start making strange noises while staring at Jean.  Ali and I positioned ourselves between them and, realizing he wasn’t getting a beer or a free show, he took the hint and moved on.

Once the line started moving, it went quickly and we got a great spot down front for the concert.  Only a brief word on Abney Park as auditory description of this band would be an insult.  They rock, I am officially a fan, and I recommend you check them out.

Concert over, we returned to our room and concluded day and night one at Dragon*Con.  Days two and three coming soon.  There’s glowing fluid and aliens involved.  You’ll love it.

– J

Tags:

6 Responses to “The Wrath of Con”

  1. Jean Says:

    Hehehe… I’d forgotten about the homeless man. Wonder if he ever got his beer?

  2. Erika Says:

    What’s that smell? That smell, my friend, is Con Funk.

    You sorta got used to it, didn’t you?

    I heard they made you read the rules out loud. That may have something to do with me. I do apologize.

  3. Ali Says:

    Aliens? Quel aliens, s’il vous plait?

  4. J Says:

    Jean – Not sure if he ever got his beer or not. Staring at some of the girls like he was he’s lucky nobody shared their beer BOTTLES.

    Erika – Your absence was so felt at Con that I started to miss you despite the fact that I’ve never even met you. Between the costume rule being quoted several times and constant reminders to “stay hydrated” it’s like there was a 5th member in our little entourage.

    Used to con funk? Not exactly, but I did pass out less often as the weekend went on. But we discovered something new on the way home… Plane Funk. Made con funk seem like a mild aftershave.

    Ali – Le Aliens les cet growwwwwwlllll con acidyspit avec mua. He tried to stab me with his tail, but then he gave me a hug.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Jon Says:

    You forgot to mention Fin. We all love Fin.

  6. Ali Says:

    I’m prepared to marshall villagers with pitchforks to (calmly, sweetly, gently) protest if another update doesn’t come soon. . .

    C’mon, J, you have no need for free time!

Leave a Reply

