2008 – Final Thoughts

Right now, just outside my Times Square office, hundreds of people are waiting in 28 degree weather, snow and rain to hold their place for the annual Ball Drop.  By around 9:00 those hundreds will have become thousands.  Some people will have stood in one place nearly 12 hours in order to get a good view of a 10 second countdown!!

It’s funny what people do to themselves in the name of fun.

Farewell, 2008.  It was a tough year for most of us, but I think the good mostly outweighed the bad.   This year brought me lots of new friends and I’ve seen God move in the lives of many people – myself included.  I didn’t have a lot I really wanted to accomplish in ’08, but I didn’t backtrack in many ways either. 

I hope you all have a safe and happy New Year’s celebration.  Let’s all do our own little parts to make 2009 great.  Be nice to a stranger.  Call up an old friend you’ve lost touch with.  Smile more.  Stay to the right on stairs and escalators.  Drink a little less.  Pray a little more.  Don’t talk during movies.  More face time with friends and less email. 

God bless you guys.  Thanks for a great year.  Unless I don’t know you of course, in which case I guess thanks for politely stalking my blog and not spamming my comments.

– J

3 Responses to “2008 – Final Thoughts”

  1. Ali Says:

    For me, 2008 was the year when a lot of dearly cherished dreams began to pull themselves together and work on manifesting. Likewise, I feel like I pulled quite a bit of *myself* together and began manifesting. It’s very empowering, isn’t it?

    One new trend, that I’m hoping will continue into 2009, is the amazing quantity of Really, Genuinely Cool People–that I actually enjoy being around!–coming into my life. (Tag you, and also your roommate, and a lot of the Forefront people that I’ve met). . . exciting!

    It’s started well so far–last night, I wished 2008 all the best, with thanks and gratitude for what we’d accomplished together, and then welcomed much-anticipated 2009 with joy, hope, a champagne toast. . . and two ribbon-y thingies zapped in my face! *ahem* Mostly, though, was the amazing feeling of being where and who I want to be, working to accomplish my goals, with the faith and support of my friends and family. Awesome. Really, truly, goosebump-y awesome.

    Oh, yeah–and it DIDN’T require standing outside in 28 degree weather. Go us!

    A happy and blessed new year to you and your family from me!

  2. TexanNewYorker Says:

    spam Spam. Spam. SPAm. SPAM. SPAM!!

    Sorry, couldn’t resist.

  3. J Says:

    my brother taught my neice to say “I DON’T LIKE SPAM!!” from Monty Python. very much funny.

Leave a Reply

