Why I Haven’t Blogged in a Week

Well, first there’s this:

work2 

which was fun, but then there’s this during the day…

work

Yep, that’s seven inches of dead trees which comprise the work that has come to me since Monday.

Now, according to a recent statistic I made up, 92% of my blog entries are posted at work in the morning before I get started.  So just for fun (and in the interest of productivity) I’m going to start “home blogging”.

The theory here is that at home my attitude will be different and thus affect my writing.  The other theory is that when I’m not at work and if I’m not out doing other things, I’m probably in my papasan chair watching stand-up and not really inclined to move (much less create coherent sentences).  So making a habit of this may require a slight adjustment in my blogational fortitude. 

Come to think of it, my list of personal adjustments I want to make in life makes that pile of paper up there look like one of the players in the picture above it.  I need to get to the gym more often, I need to bring lunch instead of buying it, I need to put more in savings, I need to keep up with friends, and the list goes on.  It’s an aggravating list and I bet we all have one.  I guess I’m just a basics kind of guy.  Because I’ve got those covered – food, shelter, clothes.  After that, everything else sort of congeals into some kind of adult bachelor meets 6 year old existence.  “I’ll pass on laundry tonight because there’s a new episode of House.  Or perhaps I could go jogging. Oh wait, I could play Guitar Hero.  Let’s see…  Jogging = running and sweating.  Guitar Hero = standing still and feeling like a rock star.”  Not a tough decision, really.

Anywho, life is what it is and I’m enjoying most of it.  I live in the greatest city in the world, I have amazing friends and family and, overall, God has been entirely too good to me.

Have a good’n,

– J

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Why I Haven’t Blogged in a Week”

  1. Ali Says:

    You. . . you have a *window*????

    Wow. I want one!

  2. Tim Says:

    Wow. I’m impressed! I here you on the personal adjustments thing.

  3. TexanNewYorker Says:

    Yeah, I hear you on the personal adjustment to do list. My list is almost as long as my laundry pile is high. Um, yeah.

  4. Popgun Says:

    “blogational fortitude” – wow. I think that may be original.

    Life is a process of re-evaluation. The trick to not getting in a rut is to make yourself do this every once in a while. I’m due for another one any year now…

    -Popgun

  5. Jon Says:

    It’s called job security, of which I have none.

    If you had horns, what color would they be? and what kind of disposition would they have sprouted from?

    oh, and I gave you a bit of a shout-out on the site.

  6. Pool Mom Says:

    Please continue to track your statistics, as I may want to include them in my classes. . . . especially those that track your at work attitude vs those at home attitudes. BTW, Pool Dad is really excited that you included a picture of dead trees (ya know, it’s the little things!). Personally, I believe that stand-up should take more clues from THE MUPPETS, because they continue to ROCK!

Leave a Reply

