Rimshot! Stat!

I waited tables for several years, and out of that I’ve got lots of stories.  A few of them are even fit to tell in public.  Such as this one:

One lunch rush, I found myself waiting on our family doctor (long retired) and 4 of his friends.  This would be the same man that assisted in my birth.  I hadn’t seen him in years and after a brief catch up, he introduced me to the others at the table, all doctors.

The time came to take their orders.  In guest order it came like this:

1 – Chicken Fried Steak
2 – Chicken Fried Steak
3 – Chicken Fried Steak
4 – Chicken Fried Steak
5 – Chicken Salad

Before walking away from the table I said, “So…  Four out of five doctors recommend our chicken fried steak?”

I got nothing.  Not so much as a smile from any of them.  I, however, thought it was hilarious.

– J

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Rimshot! Stat!”

  1. missywilky Says:

    hahahaaaaaaaa.
    jjjjjj. i love you.

  2. Ali Says:

    That might make my list of favorites. 😀

  3. TexanNewYorker Says:

    Not a smile? Not even one?

    I guess they must get jokes like that a lot.

    Either that or they’re all completely mirthless, which clearly is doing their patients a disservice, since we all know what the best medicine is. 😉

    • J Says:

      I magine they do get a lot of similar jokes. I mean, they’re only a few steps away from “A priest and a rabbi are in a boat…”

  4. Jon Says:

    They’re all aliens… Hi Mel!

  5. popgun Says:

    Now That’s Funny.

    -Popgun

  6. Aaron Says:

    And it was hilarious. doctors are a lot like captain Ahab you end a joke and it was a whale of a good time (you know because hes a whaler) and all he does is look at you and say. ” You haven’t seen what I have seen THE WHITE WHALE !!!” and then takes a long sip of grog. Doctors are like that you end a joke about the medical profession and they say something to the effect of (insert scary surgery story here) and then they take a long sip of beer.

    • J Says:

      Aaron! I didn’t know you stalked my blog! Good to hear from you. I had not previously associated doctors with whalers, so thanks for that. It’s going to make my next check up very odd.

Leave a Reply

