R.I.P. Mixed Tape

Today I had to explain what a cassette tape was to a child because she has never seen one.

Woah.

– J

Tags:

8 Responses to “R.I.P. Mixed Tape”

  1. Ali Says:

    I was informed the other day that a “mix tape” isn’t actually a mix tape anymore–something about a rap cd that is unofficially produced between “real” album releases.

    I fear I am become uncool.

  2. popgun Says:

    Ha! Snort!!
    -Popgun

  3. Jon Says:

    Try talking about a record player to the ipod generation and see if the lights come on before you get to the “turn-table” aspect.

  4. Jean Says:

    On the flip side, I get really confused now if someone gives me a phone number with only seven digits. I always check the area code to clarify.

  5. J Says:

    It also occurred to me that this girl has never had to “rewind” something to make it play again.

  6. popgun Says:

    Hi, J;

    Have you had to explain why you ‘dial’ a phone?

    -Popgun

    • J Says:

      Haven’t come across that yet, but that’s a good one. I wonder how would you update that to today’s terms…

  7. Popgun Says:

    Jean – the expression ‘on the flip side’ is itself an anachronism. It means flipping a record over to play the other side…

    And, now that I think about it, later on flipping over cassettes. On early players that didn’t have autoreverse.

    Dang, I’m old… That’s two sequential technologies that I’ve lived through that have become obsolete in my lifetime.

    -Popgun

Leave a Reply

