The Bear That Wasn’t

When I started my job I was so excited and anxious to do the very best I possibly could.  This was my first office job.  Even the fact I had a desk was exciting to me.

I’m approaching 3 years here and it’s amazing how much I’ve assimilated.  I enjoy what I do and the people I work with are great, but there are days I really feel the pressure an office environment puts on a person.  Sometimes it’s like the “system” can suck the life out of you.  It can smother your personality and make you just another drone if you let it.  Dress this way, talk this way, send this memo, update this spreadsheet…

I was thinking about this today and remembered this cartoon.  It’s 10 minutes long, but has a good message.  And it’s kind of how I’ve felt lately.

Also, take a minute to appreciate Chuck Jones and the era of cartoons this came from.  They literally don’t make them like that anymore.

– J

Tags:

2 Responses to “The Bear That Wasn’t”

  1. missywilky Says:

    good stuff j.

  2. Ali Says:

    I was so relieved that this had a happy ending–the world needs more happy endings lately.

    At least vocal talent is no longer needed to be an assistant; I would be quite unemployed if it was.

Leave a Reply

