A Three For All

So today marks 3 years back in NYC. 

That’s about 1,577,846 New York minutes and about 1,500 country miles away from Texas. 

Eventually I guess I’ll reach a point where I stop counting.  For now I still enjoy looking back every year and thinking about what’s happened.  And I have no idea how to put this past year into words.

A funny thing happens to me every three years or so.  I usually look around and say to myself, “Well, this has been fun. But now I’ve seen this and it’s time to move on.”  Then I uproot my entire life and take off in another direction.  This pattern has gone on the last 10 years or so.  The odd thing about this 3 year block of time though, is that I have no desire to change anything.  I’m happy with my life, I feel like God is using me here, and I’m having way too much fun.

Again, thanks to everyone who reads these little scribbles and also to anyone who has befriended me here in NYC.  Y’all are truly blessings from God and the reason I’m still here. 

– J

Tags:

6 Responses to “A Three For All”

  1. Ali Says:

    Happy New York Day!

    As someone who is SUPREMELY grateful that you’re still here–please believe me when I say that I truly cannot imagine New York without you! (there’s a very good chance I might not have seen Central Park yet. . . )

    Thank you for always being game for an adventure, and thank you for sharing your experiences here–it’s the single most reliably punny place on the internet!

  2. Jean Says:

    I completely 100% agree. Both with Ali, that I’m glad you’re here, and with you, that I still mark my New York anniversaries and take them as a moment to reassess my life. I, too, for once, am not finding much lacking, and I certainly don’t want to pick my life up and move it somewhere else. City life is crazy and illogical, and passionate and consuming and insane, and it truly is something that you have to have done to understand. And I LOVE IT. =) Thanks for adding to my adventure.

  3. popgun Says:

    Well, I’m sincerely glad you’re happy with your situation up there. I can’t say I understand it, mind you, but the important thing is that you are living the life you want to live.

    Love,
    Popgun

  4. Texas Grandma Says:

    1,500 country miles? What country are you in? It has to be more than that. At least to me at times New York seems all the way on the other side of the globe from here. But if you are happy and you know you are where God wants you to be than that is where you need to be (although me and Him need to have another talk.) Anyway, you know we miss you in the South and pray for you only the best. Love Ya!

  5. TexanNewYorker Says:

    Add me to the list of people who are glad you came back, and stayed. I’m happy that you’re happy. 🙂

  6. missywilky Says:

    awww… we all love you j!!

    i do love this city, very much, and i’m positive i’ll cry when we have to leave, but i have to admit, i’m starting to get pangs of suburbia longings here and there. last month was my year #3 and i think my being is missing family figures, and i’m pretty sure my uterus is starting to get stronger urges (nothing i can’t control for now though). 😉 …we still have a good 3 years left here.

Leave a Reply

