Final Thoughts

What does one do for the last post of a decade?  List all the resolutions I have no intention of keeping?  A top 10 of 2009?  A photo gallery of the past 10 years?

Meh.  It’s all been done or is being done elsewhere.  Let’s talk about cartoons!

One of my favorite movies growing up (and to this day) is Transformers: The Movie circa 1986.  Eighties rock, Optimus Prime, Leonard Nimoy and Orson “This is Probably What God Sounds Like” Welles.  What more do you need in a movie?  I remember watching it a while back and laughing at the narrator’s opening line (in slow epic voice, Jon):

“THE YEAR IS TWO-THOUSAND AND FIVE!!!”

When I saw that somewhere around the age of 6 or 7, it didn’t even register as a valid date.  It entered my head as “crazy way off in the future”.  It would be like a movie today taking place in the year 3056 or something.  Now it’s not only past 2005 but we’re already onto 2010, an even more futuristic sounding year.  In that movie Daniel had a hoverboard and giant transforming robots for friends.  Five years late, I’m beginning to feel the eensiest bit gypped here.

Y’know what?  I don’t care what 2010 holds.  I won’t be satisfied till I get my very own transforming exosuit and giant robot dinosaur. 

Happy (non-hoverboarding) New Year.

– J

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Final Thoughts”

  1. Popgun Says:

    Yeah, back in the ’60’s it was like that for me with the TV series “Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea” – set in the then-futuristic 1975. It was about a futuristic submarine that had an amphibious flying mini-sub, and was pretty cool for the time.

    I always thought I would be on Mars by now…

    Personally, I’m looking forward to the iSlate which is expected to be released by Apple at the end of January.

    -Popgun

  2. Ali Says:

    I’ll pass on the giant robot dinosaur–so impractical for a NY apartment–but I’m intrigued by the exosuit, and I WANT the hoverboard. (My insurance company prefers that we delay the hovorboard indefinitely, but who cares what they think?)

    What struck me as I read this was how many movies lately agree with you. Iron Man is intended to be present-day (ish), and Transformers kept faith with the whole timeline thing–the new movies are set in now; just a few years later than the projected 2005. I had another example when I started typing this, but it seems to have been abducted by alien technology, so I’ll end it with that and go look for what’s left of my mind.

    I’m serious about the hoverboard, though. Let’s get on that.

  3. Ali Says:

    I believe that I’m going to make this my official life creed.

    “Meh. It’s all been done or is being done elsewhere. Let’s talk about cartoons!”

Leave a Reply

