Legion

Save your nickels, folks.  Wow.  Don’t even waste a Netflix rental.

Ignoring (for a moment) the numerous religious fallacies, this movie was just bad.  Some of the worst acting I’ve seen in a while.  It tries so hard to be creepy and engaging that it actually comes across comical.  Not once did I find myself wondering 1) What’s going to happen or 2) Caring.

On the subject of religion, I am a firm believer in freedom to do whatever you want (as long as it doesn’t involve blowing up anyone).  This story is clearly fiction and so I don’t take it personally if they want to tell another version of things.  I have a particular grudge against self-righteous Christians that feel the need to protest anything and everything that says they’re wrong.  And I’m trying really hard not to sound like one here.

But.  These guys had a story they wanted to tell about God and his angels.  And that particular story went against just about everything the bible says about both.

“Hmm,” thought the writers.  “How can we get around the fact that our story is negated by everything the bible says and what most people believe?”

After a moment of silence someone says, “I’ve got it!  We’ll just say the bible wasn’t true!”

And thus, one plot hole of many was covered with scotch tape.

My problem is not that they skewered what I believe.  I’m strong enough in my faith that a movie is not going to challenge that or upset me.  It’s that they did it with such cheap plot devices.  If you’re going to have the balls to make a movie in which God breaks promises, lets angels outsmart him and then tell me the bible wasn’t true…  Then you better do it convincingly.

– J

Tags:

3 Responses to “Legion”

  1. Ali Says:

    You make many valid arguments here, but I remain steadfast in my opinion–the single reason I will not be seeing that movie is because the grandmother-ly type lady Creeps Me Out. A Lot.

  2. Popgun Says:

    Interesting revue. I haven’t seen it and don’t plan to. Like you, I am certain in my faith, but I don’t enjoy watching sacrilegious media of any sort. Since I know it is bogus in the sense of being just wrong, I feel it’s a waste of my time, and I don’t like thinking about the many people that will undoubtedly be mislead by it.

    -Popgun

  3. babyrocks Says:

    what a bummer, i LOVE paul bettany, too. tristan never thought this flick stood a chance, but i was willing to give it one. i guess not anymore…

Leave a Reply

