J See D.C.

Got back from my trip to DC last night.  We had a great time and I’m glad I finally made it out there.

It was one of the easiest places to vacation I’ve ever been.  Most of the major attractions are within walking distance of one another, a lot of it’s free, and the downtown area is very clean.  And even at the most popular monuments it wasn’t overly crowded (by NYC standards, mind you).  I wasn’t there long enough to get a good handle on navigating the subway system, but it seemed efficient.  Fortunately we had people with us who knew the area to get us from A to B.

I don’t want to bore you with details, so I’ll keep this short.  The monuments are exactly what you’ve already seen in pictures, just a lot bigger and more moving in person.  I walked away from this weekend with a renewed interest in our nation’s history and a desire to go back and relearn all the stuff that I ignored growing up.  I think I feel a documentary kick coming on…

Anyway, it was great to get out of the city a few days and to spend time with friends.  I’m already thinking about my next trip to see everything we didn’t get to this time.

– J

6 Responses to “J See D.C.”

  1. Ali Says:

    I know what you mean about more moving in person . . . I love the way history will sometimes sneak up and demand that you pay attention to it.

    Glad you had fun off the island! Can’t wait to hear stories!

  2. Tim Says:

    Cue life-changing movement music, ala Chariots of Fire.

  3. TexanNewYorker Says:

    You and your witty titles, making me smile in spite of myself . . . 🙂 Glad you had such a good time back in DC. I keep saying I’d like to go down for more than a weekend; maybe someday I’ll actually do it. And I can’t speak for any of your other readers, but I for one would love to be bored by the details (and some pictures).

  4. JonDecker Says:

    Ignoring my obviously not working website link above… if you re-direct the “Grasping @ Creativity” blog roll link to http://www.graspingatcreativity.com it will work properly again. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

