Let There Be Light (And Dinosaurs)

After an exhausting week, Roomie and I decided it would be a good idea to stay in on Friday night, order a giant pizza, have few drinks and watch Jurassic Park.  I don’t feel this was an unfair request of life, seeing as how it had spent the last 5 days repeatedly kicking me in the face.

Around about 8:30 we experienced what I am told is called a “Brown Out”.  This is somewhat less severe than a black out.  I didn’t know there was a color-coded threat level system in place for power outages.  This must be where they got the idea for our national terrorism danger rainbow.  I called ConEd and asked what color alert a light bulb burning out is so I can be prepared.  They hung up on me.

Basically, a brown out is something only major city power grids can be absurd enough to create.  Some of the power goes out.  We lost power to all the lights and all but 4 outlets.  Two in the living room and one in each of our bedrooms.  This still left us with the air conditioner and the TV working so it really didn’t throw us off that much.  We did have to run an extension cord to the fridge though.

I slept in the living room since my room doesn’t have an AC in it.  Apparently things got worse during the night and the city of New York issued a full-on black out in Astoria.  At 4AM I woke up in a puddle of my own sweat and misery so I opened the window to let some air in.  And of course ConEd was outside cutting into the street with a giant saw theoretically attempting to fix the problem. 

Next time I want a relaxing night at home I’ll ask life for something simpler.  Just Ramen, water and network tv maybe.

– J

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Let There Be Light (And Dinosaurs)”

  1. Popgun Says:

    I was wondering if you knew that solar flares can cause brownouts and blackouts? A few years ago, about half of Canada went dark because a solar flare created surges in the lines (which act like antennas) that tripped breakers all over the place up there.

    Ain’t life interesting?

    -Popgun

  2. Popgun Says:

    The Canada power failure was in March, 1989, if you want to look it up.

    -Popgun

  3. Ali Says:

    This could explain the drama we’ve been having in Brooklyn. . . we keep losing the fridge, tv, and washer, but not the AC.

  4. JonDecker Says:

    Check to make sure you’ve got your ac’s plugged into the right plugs, Ali. Your apartment only has two circuits.

Leave a Reply

