Snapple Cap

Yep, it’s time for another Snapple Cap.  This time I got one pleasantly relevant.

“Real Fact” #711

“To estimate the temperature in degrees Fahrenheit, count the number of cricket chirps in 15 seconds then add 37.”

Apparently there’s actually something to this.  A quick google search will give you plenty of other sites about the same concept. 

And if you think about how much I hate hot weather this might explain a few things about me…

– J *chirp chirp*

Tags:

6 Responses to “Snapple Cap”

  1. Popgun Says:

    Dowsing for water works, too…. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dowsing

    I have myself used the metal L shaped rods to locate a buried water line. How about it J – did you try it too?

    -Popgun

  2. Ali Says:

    I think I remember having heard this before, but you’re right, J. . . I never made that connection!

    Suddenly many things make sense.

  3. Texas Grandma Says:

    Does it count if it is your brother (or you) that is making the sound and not a real cricket?

  4. richard Says:

    Yea, but when’s the last time you heard just 1 cricket? I can see it now:
    “O.K., let’s count the chirps……….135. O.k. add 37. Wow, there may be something to that whole global warming thing.”

Leave a Reply

