Here and There Again

I’m an average reader.  If I were to make a list of things I do to pass the time reading is easily in the top 5, but tends to fluctuate depending on my proximity to an electrical outlet.  I’m always working on a book or two, which makes me look like quite the little bookworm.  But that’s just it.  I feel like I’m working on a book.  I enjoy it, sure.  I love the escapism books offer, but then I also love the escapism of shadow puppets.  From this you should glean that it takes me a while to finish most books.  Not because I’m a slow reader, but because I live in a world with lots of shiny things that distract me.

I finished reading The Hobbit not too long ago and it got me in the mood to start Lord of the Rings again.  I read it a while back and it took me the better part of 6 months to finally rid Frodo of that stupid ring.  Now just a few years later I start over and find he went and got it back.  That’s one thing about re-reading books and re-watching movies.  No matter how many times they go through the story it’s like the main characters never learn anything.

Like, oh I don’t know, maybe Gandalf could just call an Eagle for Frodo and have him drop the ring in Mt. Doom during a fly by.  If I were him I’d have been pretty pissed to find out at the end of my adventure that the old coot could have called up Middle Earth Airlines any ol’ time. 

And don’t give me that, “It’s about the journey, not the destination” crap.  It’s about me skipping the part where I fight a spider the size of a mobile home.  That’s what it’s about.

But I digress*.  I’ll not go trying to poke holes in undisputed masterpieces.  Among others, a thought I’m zigzagging and meandering toward is that these books alone justify the purchase of an e-reader.  I almost spit coffee on my iPad when I saw this last weekend.

To be fair that’s because I was holding the iPad sideways.  When you do that it splits the book into a smaller two page view.  When you hold it vertically it orients to one page and adjusts the page numbers accordingly.

Neat trick, Mr. Jobs.  Either way, that would be a lot of paper to carry around.  And in a city where we literally carry everything around, it’s a great space saver.

Really J?  You made us read all that to tell us you like your iPad?

Yes.  Apparently I did.  I didn’t exactly approach this one with much of a game plan.

– J

* From what, I admit I don’t really know.

3 Responses to “Here and There Again”

  1. Popgun Says:

    I love my original iPad, and I’ve bought a bunch of books for it. However, I do find that I still buy the occasional hardback or paperback book. There are a few that still aren’t available electronically, and there are a few that I collect. For instance, I have all eleven books in the C.J. Cherryh Foreigner trilogy (snort), so of course I bought the 12th book in hardback.

    But still, I love being able to carry around several hundred volumes in my iPad. And, as the Kindle commercial does NOT point out, you can read an iPad in the dark.

    -Popgun

Leave a Reply

